Monthly Archives: June 2018

2017-2018 Orchid Awards for Tri-County Players

TCP_logoFOX ON THE FAIRWAY presented with Milford Theatre Guilde

  • Excellence in Acting Elizabeth Hickerson
  • Excellence in Acting Kelly Lumbert
  • Excellence in Acting Stephen Beck


  • Excellence in Ensemble Judy Berrens and Cast
  • Excellence in Acting Allie Weber
  • Excellence in Acting Jacqueline Daaleman
  • Excellence in Program Amy Sullivan
  • Excellence in Producing Betty Coutler and Reva Schell
  • Excellence in Costume Design Shana McCoy & Reva Schell

2017-2018 Orchid & OCTAfest Convention Awards


1 Comment

Filed under In Other News

NEWSIES Runs July 27-Aug. 5

CASA_Newsies logoNEWSIES
Cincinnati Actor’s Studio & Academy
July 27-Aug. 5

Directed by Gina Cerimele-Mechley
Music directed by Melody Wallace
Choreographed by Maria Broderick

Cast: Paige Genevieve Ambach as Katherine Plumber, Chloe Baron as Henry/Featured Dancer/Darcy,
Breanna Brandenburg as Albert/Elmer/Featured Dancer/Dance Captain, John Cerimele as Mr. Jacobi, Cayce Cobaugh as Davey, James Covarrubias as Buttons/Scab/Goon, Bella DeJesus as Romeo, Nicholas Delfino as Nunzio/Photographer/Goon, Sara Detwiler as Les, Kaitlin Diersing as Tommy Boy/Bunsen/Goon, Meghan Dincler as Mike/Scab/Goon, Laura Dinn as Finch/Featured Dancer, William Forgham as Snyder, Grace Goodwin as Jo Jo/Featured Dancer/Nun/Bowery Beauty, Cecilia Gries as Dance Captain/SPECS/Featured Dancer, Meg Griffin as Joseph Pulitzer/Goon, Amy Helms as Spot Conlon/Featured Dancer, Allie Houston as Nun/Hannah/Bowery Beauty/Delancey Brother, Taylor Lindsey as Seitz, Carley Millette as Splasher/Goon, Gabrielle Mouch as Race/Featured Dancer, Ryan Smith as Medda Larkin, Nick Swope as MUSH/Cop/Bill/A SCAB, Katie Tierney as Stage Manager/Pulitzer’s Guard/Goon/Mayor, Nick Wasserbauer as Jack Kelly, Cristina Whyte as Crutchie & Emily Wolfe as Ike

Most people familiar with Newsies will rave about it due to its spectacular dancing and catchy songs. What many do not realize is that it is based upon actual events of the 1899 newsies strike started and run BY CHILDREN! Newsies were as young as 4 years old, but most of the members of the “first newsies union” were between 11-15 years of age. It lasted about 2 weeks and actually ended with results of a successful compromise. This story speaks so loudly and clearly to today’s generation. Just like the students who founded March for our Lives, the real newsies of 1899 “challenged our whole generation to stand up and demand a place at the table.” There were many more strikes to follow until finally in 1938 Congress passed the Fair Labor Standards Act.

  • Fri-Sun, July 27-29 at 7:30pm
  • Fri-Sun, Aug. 3-5 at 7:30pm

Official page |

Leave a comment

Filed under On Stage

Cast Announced for ASSASSINS at Greater Hamilton Civic Theatre

GHCT_logoThe following people have been cast in Greater Hamilton Civic Theatre and the Fitton Center’s musical, ASSASSINS.

  • Proprietor: Chelsey Cavender
  • Balladeer: Tyler Owen Parsons
  • John Wilkes Booth: Cy Wood
  • Leon Czolgosz: Rodney Neal
  • Emma Goldman: Rhonda Lucas
  • Squeaky Fromme: Gaby Neal
  • Sara Jane Moore: Michelle Shaffer
  • Giuseppe Zangara: Sami Shaaban
  • Charles Guiteau: Brent Peebles
  • John Hinckley: Paul Phillips
  • Sam Byck: Scott Christian

The American Ensemble:
Andie Angel, Jake Brown,  Jen Drake, Chase Engel, Rhonda Lucas, Steve Noble, David Radtke, Jenni Sheets, Kelly Walker

ASSASSINS is a collaborative effort of GHCT and the Fitton Center for Creative Arts, where shows will be performed.

Performances fun Sept. 20-23. Click here for details.

Directed by Matt Neal
Produced by Meggorie Haven

Sponsored by Schiavone Law (GHCT)
Sponsored by Jack & Shirley Moser (Fitton Center)

Leave a comment

Filed under Cast list


St. Paul Players
July 27-Aug. 5

Cast: Michelle Knoechelman Cockerham as Miss Mary Ainslie, Chris Schingledecker as Jane Hathaway, Rachel Thorman as Ruth Thorne, Kimberly Coulehan as Bernice Carlton, Nate Marvin Huitger as Carl Winfield, Mary Benken/Sonnia Richards as Sophrony Trotter, Randy Blake as Dr. Howard Patterson, Sarah Papin as Hepsey, David Hill as Joe Pendleton & Dennis Eling as James Ball.

Mary Ainslee, a charming and gracious little lady, is a tradition in her little New England village. She never leaves her house and every night a lamp burns in her attic window. As an accommodation to her neighbor, Miss Ainslee agrees to take in her neighbor’s young niece, Ruth and they become warm friends. Carl Winsfield, young newspaper reporter with eye trouble, comes to the village. Carl falls a victim to Miss Ainslee’s charm and falls in love with Ruth. They become engaged. Carl has an accident which causes him to lose his eyesight. It is then that Miss Ainslee steps forth and fights heroically to help Carl regain his lost vision. Why should Mary Ainslee lavish so much care on a strange boy? In the last act, in a scene of poignant beauty, Mary Ainslee reveals why she has lived such a strange life. Includes dinner.

  • Fri-Sat, July 27-28 at 7pm
  • Sun, July 29 at 1pm
  • Fri-Sat, Aug. 3-4 at 7pm
  • Sun, Aug. 5 at 1pm

Official page |

Leave a comment

Filed under On Stage

2017-2018 Orchid Awards for Acting Up


  • Excellence in Musical Theatre Performance – Amy Lacey
  • Excellence in Musical Theatre Performance – Michael Williams
  • Excellence in Musical Theatre Performance – Kyle Rosa
  • ​Excellence in Lobby Display – Stephanie Bush, Karen Kopack, Linda Rothstein and Jen Scalfaro
  • Excellence in Program Art – Sue LaChappelle
  • Excellence in Set Construction – Steve Fair & Brent Peebles
  • Excellence in Producing – Adrianna Hartmann
  • Excellence in Light Design – Allen Young
  • Excellence in Stage Management – Rachelle Penilla
  • Excellence in Costume Design – Becky Corstanje, Sue Speno, Andrea Leford, Alicia Farbstein
  • Excellence in Special Effects – Scott Meyer, Spencer Walsh, Brahm Corstanje, Sue LaChapelle
  • Excellence in Choreography – Catherine Dresbach, Anna Duvall Sheehan, Erin Speno
  • Excellence in Direction – Joel Saeks
  • Excellence in Set Design – Brent Peebles, Steve Fair, Aaryn Allman
  • Excellence in Ensemble – Joel Saeks & Cast


  • Excellence in Musical Theatre Performance – Skye Haruyama
  • Excellence in Musical Theatre Performance – Sam Hoyer
  • Excellence in Musical Theatre Performance – Katie Short
  • Excellence in Musical Theatre Performance – Nick Fisher
  • Excellence in Musical Theatre Performance – Cammie Caldwell
  • Excellence in Musical Theatre Performance – Alexa Mueller
  • Excellence in Program Art – Sue LaChappelle
  • Excellence in Set Design – Brent Peebles & Steve Fair
  • Excellence in Producing – Laura Peebles
  • Excellence in Stage Management – Rachelle Penilla
  • Excellence in Choreography – Erin Russell, Karen Galliers, Shawn Flick, Caroline Hall
  • Excellence in Musical Direction – Jeanne Bilyeu
  • Excellence in Vocal Direction – Phil Clary
  • Excellence in Costume Design – Sue Speno & Becky Corstanje
  • Excellence in Ensemble – Joey Schnell, Erin Russell and Cast
  • Excellence in Dance Execution – Ensemble

2017-2018 Orchid & OCTAfest Convention Awards

1 Comment

Filed under In Other News