Monthly Archives: May 2017

Casting Call for 3rd Annual Cincinnati One-Minute Play Festival

KTC_One Minute Play Festival logoKaren O’Brien, a professional director, is looking for talent to perform in the Festival at the Know Theatre.  The One-­Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) is a grassroots community-engaged theatre festival. #1MPF is social barometer practice, which investigates local zeitgeist and narratives through dialogue, consensus building, and a performance of minute-long moments generated by each community. For more information visit: www.oneminuteplayfestival.com.

There are 6 – 10 new one-minute plays with flexible casting requirements that are diverse in race, age, gender and all frames of representation. There will be about 10-20 hours of rehearsal time in June and early July (times and dates TBD). Rehearsal time depends how many characters you are cast to portray. Alas, there is no pay for these performances.

Given that a roster of actors are needed by June 3rd, the director may make casting decisions based upon actors’ resume, headshot and list of conflicts for evening and weekend rehearsals between June 5th and July 9th rather than have actors audition.

Performances:

  • Saturday July 8th at 9a-8pm for Tech and Performance at 8P (7pm call)
  • Sunday, July 9th at 3pm (2pm call)
  • Sunday, July 9th at 8pm (7pm call)

If interested, email your resume, headshot and a file with a list of conflicts to Richard Zenk, Stage Manager at richardjoseph@gmail.com by June 3rd.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Casting Call

Disney’s BEAUTY AND THE BEAST Runs June 29-Aug. 20

QCP_Beauty and the Beast logoDisney’s BEAUTY AND THE BEAST
La Comedia Dinner Theatre
June 29-Aug. 20
Springboro

The classic story tells of Belle, a young woman in a provincial town, and the Beast, who is really a young prince trapped under the spell of an enchantress. If the Beast can learn to love and be loved, the curse will end and he will be transformed into his former self. But time is running out. If the Beast does not learn his lesson soon, he and his household will be doomed for all eternity.

  • Thu-Fri, June 29-30 at 10:30am & 5:30pm
  • Sat, July 1 at 5:30pm
  • Sun, July 2 at 10:30am & 5:30pm
  • Thu-Fri, July 6-7 at 10:30am & 5:30pm
  • Sat, July 8 at 5:30pm
  • Sun, July 9 at 10:30am & 5:30pm
  • Thu-Fri, July 13-14 at 10:30am & 5:30pm
  • Sat, July 15 at 5:30pm
  • Sun, July 16 at 10:30am & 5:30pm
  • Thu-Fri, July 20-21 at 10:30am & 5:30pm
  • Sat, July 22 at 5:30pm
  • Sun, July 23 at 10:30am & 5:30pm
  • Thu-Fri, July 27-28 at 10:30am & 5:30pm
  • Sat, July 29 at 5:30pm
  • Sun, July 30 at 10:30am & 5:30pm
  • Thu-Fri, Aug. 3-4 at 10:30am & 5:30pm
  • Sat, Aug. 5 at 5:30pm
  • Sun, Aug. 6 at 10:30am & 5:30pm
  • Thu-Fri, Aug. 10-11 at 10:30am & 5:30pm
  • Sat, Aug. 12 at 5:30pm
  • Sun, Aug. 13 at 10:30am & 5:30pm

Official page |

Leave a comment

Filed under On Stage

BLITHE SPIRIT Runs June 28-July 23

WFIT_Sign at nightBLITHE SPIRIT
Warsaw Federal Incline Theater
June 28-July 23
East Price Hill

Directed by Bob Brunner

Cast: Allison Hinkel as Edith, Grace Eichler as Ruth, Matt Krieg as Charles, David Roth as Dr. Bradman, Susan Jung as Mrs. Bradman, Traci Taylor as Madame Arcati & Kayla Burress as Elvira

The smash comedy hit of the London and Broadway stages concerns the socialite and novelist Charles Condomine, who invites the eccentric medium and clairvoyant, Madame Arcati, to his house to conduct a séance, hoping to gather material for his next book. The scheme backfires when she calls up the ghost of his annoying and temperamental first wife, Elvira! Elvira then hilariously haunts Charles’s marriage second wife, Ruth, who cannot see or hear the ghost! As things go wildly out of control, Charles will do anything to restore order in this world – and the next!

  • Wed-Thu, June 28-29 at 7:30pm
  • Fri-Sat, June 30-July 1 at 8pm
  • Sun, July 2 at 2pm
  • Wed-Thu, July 5-6 at 7:30pm
  • Fri-Sat, July 7-8 at 8pm
  • Sun, July 9 at 2pm
  • Wed-Thu, July 12-13 at 7:30pm
  • Fri-Sat, July 14-15 at 8pm
  • Sun, July 16 at 2pm
  • Wed-Thu, July 19-20 at 7:30pm
  • Fri-Sat, July 21-22 at 8pm
  • Sun, July 23 at 2pm

Official page |

Leave a comment

Filed under On Stage

THE TEMPEST Runs June 9-17

TMC_The Tempest logoTHE TEMPEST
Thomas More College Villa Players
June 9-17
Amphitheatre [Crestview Hills]

Betrayed and exiled to a deserted island, with only his books and his infant daughter for company, the magician Prospero has spent years plotting his revenge. When fate places all his old enemies within his reach, Prospero summons a magical storm that brings them crashing down onto his shores. This romantic tale replete with magic and monsters, love and liquor, and retribution and redemption is a voyage you won’t want to miss.

  • Fri-Sat, June 9-10 at 7pm
  • Fri-Sat, June 16-17 at 7pm

Official page |

Leave a comment

Filed under On Stage

THE MUSIC MAN Runs June 8-17

esp_logoTHE MUSIC MAN
East Side Players
June 8-17
Blue Ash Recreation

Directed by Kate Brauer-Bell
Featuring the Musical Theater Orchestra

Official cast lists |

When fast-talking Harold Hill hears that no traveling salesman has ever won over stubborn River City, Iowa, he decides to give it a try! His biggest challenge is Marian the librarian, and in the process of trying to charm her, he falls in love himself. The Music Man celebrates a terrific score of marches, love songs and Barbershop quartets, along with great dance numbers and a family-friendly story. Come join us for this Tony Award winning Broadway favorite!

  • Thu-Sun, June 8-11 at 7:30pm
  • Wed-Sat, June 14-17 at 7:30pm

Official page |

Leave a comment

Filed under On Stage