2016 CYPT Alumni Awards

CYPT_logoEvery year at the Benefit, several notable alumni are recognized for their contributions to the organization or as great ambassadors after their years in CYPT.

Two award recipients are being announced in advance of the Party and two – the Hall of Fame voting winners – will be announced at the event.

It is with great pleasure that we honor the following:

Jen Martin
CYPT Founder’s Award

This award recognizes outstanding contributions to the success and long term development of Cincinnati Young People’s Theatre and Cincinnati Landmark Productions. Jen Martin was CYPT’s choreographer for 7 summers. Her tremendous work was featured in Children of Eden, Anything Goes, The Pajama Game, Godspell, Crazy for You, and more. Plus, she choreographed multiple CLP shows at the Showboat Majestic and Covedale seasons. As a CYPT performer, Jen danced in Jesus Christ Superstar and Joseph… Dreamcoat, as well as performing in multiple shows in CLP season shows.

Previous honorees: Mark Mueller, Tony Hungler, Steve Papin, Doug Ridenour, Nicola Burgun, Greg Dastillung, Joe Bunke, Mayor John Cranley.

Kevin Frisch
The Matt Gunnels Memorial Award for Distinguished Alumni – Performing Arts

This award recognizes notable achievements in the performing arts after one’s participation in CYPT. Kevin Frisch played the bumbling leading man Axel Magee in CYPT’s 1986 production of Don’t Drink the Water. He is being honored for his theatrical achievements in his professional life – the creation of the Frisch Marionette Company. After 1986, Kevin moved to New York City and joined Nicolas Coppola and The Puppetworks, developing the craft and skills of a puppeteer and artist. He spent 9 years touring and performing in The Puppetworks theaters in Brooklyn and Macy’s Herald Square. In 1995, Kevin moved back to Cincinnati to found The Frisch Marionette Company. Today, the Company thrives as an exceptional entertainment and educational experience for children and adults alike.

Previous honorees: Richard Oberacker, Allen Kendall, Eric Bricking, Aaron LaVigne, Brandy Rice Bailey, Amy Miller, Matt Wilson and  Steven G. Kennedy.

2016 CYPT Hall of Fame Nominees
The nominees for the CYPT Hall of Fame award (Westwood Town Hall era) are: Daniel Bayer, Karen Husman Davis,  Jeff “Ffej” Hartman,  Jenny Stratton Johnson (aka Chinstrap) and  Rich Roedersheimer.  And the nominees for the CYPT Hall of Fame award (Covedale era) are: Tim Hein, Kalie Kaimann, Jonathan Papin, Alex Sunderhaus and Dorsey Ziller. Both Hall of Fame awards will be announced at the Party.

Congratulations to the recipients and to all nominated!


Leave a comment

Filed under Press Releases

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.