Auditions Announced for THIS RANDOM WORLD at Mariemont Players

MPI_logo 2020Mariemont Players and director Laura Berkemeier announce auditions for the first show of our 2022-2023 season: This Random World by Steven Dietz (September, 2022)!

Audition Information

Date/Time:

  • Monday, May 23, 2022 at 7:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, May 24, 2022 at 7:00 p.m.

Location: Mariemont Players, Walton Creek Theater, 4101 Walton Creek Road, Cincinnati, Ohio 45227​

Audition Requirements: Auditions will consist of cold readings from the script. Headshot and resume are optional but appreciated.

Rehearsal times: Rehearsals will begin in early June.

Production Dates: Thursday, September 8 – 7:30 p.m.; Friday, September 9 – 7:30 p.m.; Saturday, September 10 – 7:30 p.m.; Sunday, September 11 – 2:00 p.m.; Thursday, September 15 – 7:30 p.m.; Friday, September 16 – 7:30 p.m.; Saturday, September 17 – 2:00 p.m. & 7:30 p.m.; Sunday, September 18 – 2:00 p.m.; Thursday, September 22 – 7:30 p.m.; Friday, September 23 – 7:30 p.m.; Saturday, September 24 – 7:30 p.m.; Sunday, September 25 – 2:00 p.m.

Synopsis: We want to believe that serendipity brings us together, but is that just a myth? Mining the comedy of missed connections, This Random World asks the serious question of how often we travel parallel paths through the world without noticing. From an ailing woman who plans one final trip, to her daughter planning one great escape and her son falling prey to a prank gone wrong, this funny, intimate, and heartbreaking play explores the lives that may be happening just out of reach of our own.

Available roles:

NOTE – Ages are highly dependent on the casting pool. The director is looking for an eclectic, diverse cast – all are encouraged to audition!

  • Scottie Ward – a woman in or around her 70s
  • Tim Ward – her son, age: 29ish
  • Beth Ward – her daughter, age: 38ish
  • Bernadette – her aide, age: 30s
  • Rhonda – Bernadette’s younger sister, age: late 20s
  • Claire – Tim’s ex-girlfriend, age: 29ish
  • Gary – Claire’s ex-boyfriend, age: 30s

The director is also seeking a producer who will be the overseer of technical crew and overall production tasks. Please reach out to Laura (laura.berkemeier@gmail.com) if interested.

Leave a comment

Filed under Auditions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.