The Walnut Hills High School Theatre Department Presents an Optimistic Tale in the Midst of Cynicism, Through Cartoon Comedy in THE SPONGEBOB MUSICAL


Cincinnati, OH-The Walnut Hills High School Theatre Department is elated to be welcoming back live audiences to its 2021-2022 school year senior high musical, the regional high school premiere of The SpongeBob Musical.

Adapted from the iconic Nickelodeon series, The SpongeBob Musical follows SpongeBob, Patrick, Sandy, Squidward and all of Bikini Bottom as they face total annihilation when a local volcano, Mount Humongous, threatens to erupt in 24 hours. Spongebob, Patrick, and Sandy attempt to save the day, while Plankton cooks up another one of his evil schemes and attempts to thwart our heroes—until a most unexpected hero rises to take center stage.

Regarding the musical, director Mike Sherman says, “While this is certainly a fun show based on a cartoon loved by so many, it also has a really great message about friendship and community. In a very cynical time, this show brings a joyous message of hope and optimism.”

The show runs February 17-19, 2022 at 7 p.m. in the Walnut Hills High School Auditorium.


Mikki Schaffner Photography.

The SpongeBob Musical
With New Songs by Yolanda Adams, Steven Tyler and Joe Perry of Aerosmith, Sara Bareilles, Jonathan Coulton, Alex Ebert of Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros, The Flaming Lips, Lady Antebellum, Cyndi Lauper, John Legend, Panic! At the Disco, Plain White T’s, They Might Be Giants, T.I., and songs by David Bowie, Tom Kenny & Andy Paley / Additional Lyrics by Jonathan Coulton / Additional Music by Tom Kitt / Music Supervision, Orchestrations and Arrangements by Tom Kitt / Original Choreography by Christopher Gattelli

Based on the series by Stephen Hillenberg, Book by Kyle Jarrow, and Musical Production Conceived and Directed by Tina Landau.

Tickets are $12 for adults and $10 for students. They are now available, and can be purchased at:, where audience members can also read the COVID 19 policies for attending the performance.  Please be advised that seating is currently limited for all performances.

This production and the entire WHHS Theatre Season is graciously sponsored by the Walnut Hills High School Class of 1964 Performing Arts Fund.

Leo Jenkins as SpongeBob Squarepants, Valerie Dreith as Patrick Star, Diana Hutchinson as Sandy Cheeks, Nate Caudill as Krabs/French Narrator, Ella Vaughn as Pearl, Brando Donaldson as Plankton, Lily Canter as Karen, Emma Dalton as Squidward, Owen Cummings as Perch Perkins, Wolf Singer as Patchy the Pirate/Johnny the Bartender, Avery Frank as The Mayor, Loretta Rubin as Mrs. Puff, Hadrian Dwyer as Larry the Lobster/Gary, Sophie Christian as Old Man Jenkins/Pirate, Oscar Stec as Buster Bluetang/Pirate, Riley Soutar as Security Guard 1/Mob Fish/ Jellyfish Puppeteer, Alonzo Mongomery as Security Guard 2/Sardine Devotee 1/Sea Anemone, Anika Vockell as Electric Skate 1 / Girl Fish Trio/Cowboy Fish, Clare Graff as Electric Skate 2 / Girl Fish Trio/Cowboy Fish/Sea Anemone, Maya Busche as Electric Skate 3/Girl Fish Trio/Cowboy Fish, Izzy Lachey as Hip Hop Dancer/ Plankton Backup Fish/A Fish/Pirate/Sea Anemone, Nick Kaufmann as Mob Fish/Jellyfish Puppeteer, Lily Clark as Sardine Devotee 5/Jellyfish Puppeteer, Andrew Canter as A Sardine/Pirate/ Sea Anemone, Sophia Cotton-Riker as Plankton Backup Fish/Sardine Devotee 2/Sea Anemone, AJ Frecker as Hip Hop Dancer/Plankton Backup Fish/Sardine/Sea Anemone, Kyra Doty as Sardine Devotee 3/Pirate/Sea Anemone, Chloe Goodman as Sardine Devotee/Sea Anemone, Katie Berich as Plankton Backup Fish/Sardine Devotee/ Teen Fan 3/Sea Anemone, Lizzy Rebber as Another Fish/Sardine/ Pirate/Sea Anemone, James Overton as Another Sardine/Pirate/Sea Anemone, Mya Verticchio as Sardine Devotee/Pirate/Teen Fan 2/Sea Anemone, and Josie Leanza as Sardine Devotee 4/Teen Fan 1/Jellyfish Puppeteer.

  • Directed by Mike Sherman
  • Technical Direction by Helen A. Raymond-Goers
  • Assistant Director: Sophia Rooksberry
  • Production Stage Manager- Lucia Johns
  • Assistant Stage Managers- Jamiera Jones and Abbie Kershner
  • Choreographer- Maggie Perrino
  • Student Choreographers- Lael Ingram and Izzy Lachey
  • Costume Designer- Sadie Gray
  • Hair and Makeup Designer- Laurel Prince
  • Lighting Designer- Allison Calkins
  • Makeup and Hair Designer- Laurel Prince
  • Master Electrician- Reagan Warvel
  • Marketing and Publicity Head- Avery Frank
  • Music Director- Tony Nims
  • Orchestra Conductor- Ed LeBorgne
  • Props Designer- Oran Wilkins
  • Scenic Designer- Chloe Goodman
  • Sound Designers- Mary Sullivan and Reagan Warvel

Leave a comment

Filed under Events, High School Theatre, Press Releases

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.