Tag Archives: Wright State University

THE GONDOLIERS Runs Feb. 18-27

WSU_The Gondoliers logoTHE GONDOLIERS
Wright State University
Feb. 18-27
Herbst Theatre [Dayton]

The Gondoliers is a timeless musical farce, set in a fantastical Venice of the 19th century as only Gilbert and Sullivan could imagine it. Musical theatre doesn’t get sillier than this mistaken identity musical farce, filled with witty and tuneful songs and nutty characters that seem to spring from Saturday morning cartoons. Frivolity and comic mayhem will rule the day as we wait to find the identity of the true King of Barataria.

  • Fri-Sat, Feb. 18-19 at 8pm
  • Sun, Feb. 20 at 2pm
  • Fri, Feb. 25 at 8pm
  • Sat, Feb. 26 at 2pm & 8pm
  • Sun, Feb. 27 at 2pm

Official page |

Leave a comment

Filed under On Stage

SWEAT Runs Feb. 3-13

WSU_Sweat logoSWEAT
Wright State University
Feb. 3-13
Festival Playhouse [Dayton]

This Pulitzer Prize-winning drama takes us into the lives of middle-American industrial workers facing the end of their livelihoods as their factory jobs disappear and their families and friendships struggle to survive. As if lifted from our own local headlines, Sweat is a poignant and bracing portrait of America in crisis. Contains adult language and depictions of violence.

1/4/21 – In observance of University policy, all performers and audience members are required to be masked during performances.

  • Thu, Feb. 3 at 7pm
  • Fri-Sat, Feb. 4-5 at 8pm
  • Sun, Feb. 6 at 2pm
  • Thu, Feb. 10 at 7pm
  • Fri, Feb. 11 at 8pm
  • Sat, Feb. 12 at 2pm & 8pm
  • Sun, Feb. 13 at 2pm

Official page |

Leave a comment

Filed under On Stage

CIRCLE MIRROR TRANSFORMATION Runs Nov. 19-Dec. 5

WSU_Circle Mirror TransformationCIRCLE MIRROR TRANSFORMATION
Wright State University
Nov. 19-Dec. 5
Herbst Theatre [Dayton]

In this Obie Award-winning play, a group of adult amateurs have enrolled in a Vermont community center’s drama workshop and gradually learn more than just acting. Through a series of touching and often comic exercises, they reveal their deeper selves to each other.

  • Fri-Sat, Nov. 19-20 at 8pm
  • Sun, Nov. 21 at 2pm
  • Fri-Sat, Dec. 3-4 at 8pm
  • Sun, Dec. 5 at 2pm

Official page |

Leave a comment

Filed under On Stage

MAMMA MIA! Runs Oct. 29-Nov. 14

WSU_Mamma Mia logo2MAMMA MIA!
Wright State University
Oct. 29-Nov. 14
Festival Playhouse [Dayton]

Get out your boogie shoes to dance to this global smash hit featuring the music of ABBA and written by two of the band’s former members. We’ve literally been waiting a year and a half to bring this worldwide dance phenomenon to our stage!

  • Fri-Sat, Oct. 29-30 at 8pm
  • Sun, Oct. 31 at 2pm
  • Fri, Nov. 5 at 8pm
  • Sat, Nov. 6 at 2pm & 8pm
  • Sun, Nov. 7 at 2pm
  • Fri, Nov. 12 at 8pm
  • Sat, Nov. 13 at 2pm & 8pm
  • Sun, Nov. 14 at 2pm

Official page |

Leave a comment

Filed under On Stage

LEND ME A TENOR Runs Sept. 23-Oct. 3

WSU_Lend Me a TenorLEND ME A TENOR
Wright State University
Sept. 23-Oct. 3
Festival Playhouse [Dayton]

We celebrate Wright State’s return to live theatre with one of the funniest, most raucous farces ever! Filled with slamming doors, mistaken identities, high-stakes hijinks, and a touch of Opera, Lend Me A Tenor will have you in stitches. Step into a beautiful art deco world to meet a cast of looney characters that appear to have stepped out of 1930s Hollywood.

9/14/21 Covid-19 Policy: In observance of University policy, all performers and audience members are required to be masked during performances. 
Note: Always verify the latest policy changes before attendance.

  • Thu, Sept. 23 at 7pm
  • Fri-Sat, Sept. 24-25 at 8pm
  • Sun, Sept. 26 at 2pm
  • Thu, Sept. 30 at 7pm
  • Fri, Oct. 1 at 8pm
  • Sat, Oct. 2 at 2pm & 8pm
  • Sun, Oct. 3 at 2pm

Official page |

Leave a comment

Filed under On Stage