MR. JOY Runs Sept. 23-Oct. 22

pip_mr-joy-promo

Photo by Tony Arrasmith/Arrasmith & Associates.

MR. JOY
Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park
Sept. 23-Oct. 22
Shelterhouse Theatre [Eden Park]

Directed by Nicole A . Watson

Performed by Debra Walton

What happened to Mr. Joy? A Harlem community is shaken when Mr. Joy, a Chinese immigrant whose shoe repair shop has been a neighborhood pillar for decades, is the victim of a sudden and violent attack. Through the lens of nine of Mr. Joy’s customers – all brought to life by one actress – we learn the subtly profound and unassuming impact the shop owner has had on each of their lives. Poignant, thoughtful and stirring, Mr. Joy invites you to celebrate the power of the invisible ties that bind us all. Written by Playhouse favorite and Dayton native Daniel Beaty! MR. JOY is appropriate for adults and older teenagers. The show is a depiction of individual hardships in an inner-city community of Harlem, New York, and contains adult language and realistic narratives describing violence.

  • In preview, Sat, Sept. 23 at 8pm & Sun, Sept. 24 at 7pm
  • In preview Tue-Wed, Sept. 26-27 at 7:30pm
  • Thu, Sept. 28 at 7:30pm
  • Fri, Sept. 29 at 8pm
  • Sat, Sept. 30 at 4pm & 8pm
  • Sun, Oct. 1 at 2pm & 7pm
  • Tue-Thu, Oct. 3-5 at 7:30pm
  • Fri, Oct. 6 at 8pm
  • Sat, Oct. 7 at 4pm & 8pm
  • Sun, Oct. 8 at 2pm & 7pm
  • Tue-Thu, Oct. 10-12 at 7:30pm
  • Fri, Oct. 13 at 8pm
  • Sat, Oct. 14 at 4pm & 8pm
  • Sun, Oct. 15 at 2pm & 7pm
  • Tue, Oct. 17 at 7:30pm
  • Wed, Oct. 18 at 1pm & 7:30pm
  • Thu, Oct. 19 at 7:30pm
  • Fri, Oct. 20 at 8pm
  • Sat, Oct. 21 at 4pm & 8pm
  • Sun, Oct. 11 at 2pm

Official page |

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under On Stage

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s