LCT Celebrates Season Winners

LCT_VWinners of the LCT Awards were announced last night at the League of Cincinnati Theatre’s Awards Party. The theme this year it was Extended Happy Hour, well received by the theatre makers, who enjoyed the focus on fellowship of this industry celebration.

There were a lot of things to be happy for, as theatre representatives and individuals were called to share throughout the night. Costume nominee Ronnie Chamberlain, new this year to Northern Kentucky University, shared how she and her husband chose Cincinnati as a theatre community—over Chicago and other cities—for its vibrant art scene, and as a place to raise a family and actually own a house. That seemed to be a theme of the night, Cincinnati has a professional theatre and arts community that collaborates, supports and nurtures each other, whether it is in front of the audience, behind the scenes, or working in administration.

LCT is happy to have so many people in Cincinnati able to earn a living doing what they love, what they are good at , and are making a difference to our community.

The following awards were announced:

  • Best Play, Seven Spots on the Sun, Playhouse in the Park
  • Best Musical (Tie), Chicago, Carnegie Theatre; Les Miserables, CCM
  • Director of a Play, KJ Sanchez, Seven Spots on the Sun, Playhouse in the Park
  • Director of a Musical. Ed Cohen, Dee Ann Bryll, Chicago, Carnegie Theatre
  • Choreography (Tie), David Baum, Chicago, Carnegie Theatre; Diane Lala/Patti James, Singin’ in the Rain, CCM
  • Fight Choreography (Tie), Drew Fracher, Henry IV, Cincinnati Shakespeare Company; Melissa Bennett Murphy, Dracula, Covedale
  • Costume Design (Tie)Kathie Brookfield, Annie, Jr., Children’s Theatre of Cincinnati;
  • Dean Walz, Chicago, Carnegie Theatre
  • Lighting Design, Brian C. Mehring, The Mountaintop, Ensemble Theatre
  • Music Direction, Steve Goers, Les Miserables, CCM
  • Scenic Design, Mark Halpin, Singin’ in the Rain, CCM
  • Sound Design, Zach Williamson, Seven Spots on the Sun, Playhouse in the Park
  • Special Contribution , Clint Allen, Projection Design, Fl,y, Playhouse in the Park
  • Special Contribution, Omar Edwards, Tap Improvographer, Fly,Playhouse in the Park
  • Special Contribution , Kelly Yurko, Prosthetic Design, The Whale, Clifton Players
  • Ensemble in a Play, Seven Spots on the Sun, Playhouse in the Park
  • Ensemble in a Musical, Les Miserables, CCM
  • Small Group Performance in a Play, Matt Dentino/David Bogenschutz
  • Duck Hunter Shoots Angel, Falcon Theatre
  • Lead Actor in a Play (Tie)Daniel Britt, Light Sensitive, Mad Anthony; Brent Vimtrup, The Crucible, Cincinnati Shakespeare Company
  • Lead Actor in a Musical, Blain Krauss, Les Miserables, CCM
  • Lead Actress in a Play, Greta Wohlrabe, Venus in Fur, Playhouse in the Park
  • Lead Actress in a Musical, Leslie Goddard, Chicago, Carnegie Theatre
  • Outstanding Youth Performance, Allison Edwards, Annie, Jr., Children’s Theatre of Cincinnati
  • Featured Actor in a Play, Bob Allen, Bus Stop, New Edgecliff Theatre
  • Featured Actor in a Musical, Matthew Paul Hill, Les Miserables, CCM
  • Featured Actress in a Play (Tie)Christine Dye, Bus Stop, New Edgecliff Theatre; Miranda McGee, Two Noble Kinsmen, Cincinnati Shakespeare Company
  • Featured Actress in a Musical, Jenny Hickman, Carrie, CCM
  • Audience Service Award, John Simpson, Bartender, Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park
  • Audience Favorite Play (Social Media Voting), The Crucible, Cincinnati Shakespeare Company/Xavier University
  • Audience Favorite Musical (Social Media Voting), Bat Boy, The Falcon

Leave a comment

Filed under Press Releases

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.