Cast Announced for THE ROAR OF THE GREASEPAINT – THE SMELL OF THE CROWD at Dayton Playhouse

Book Music and Lyrics by Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley

January 22 – February 7, 2016

Directed by Jim Lockwood

Written in 1965 this is a parable disguised as a comic allegory about the class system in England. It depicts the conflict between Sir, a portentous individual who is always on the winning side, and Cocky, a meek partner and Sir’s foil, who always seems to be on the losing end of the “game” the two incessantly play. Who Can I Turn To, A Wonderful Day Like Today, The Joker, and Where Would You Be Without Me. Understandably nominated for a Tony Award for Best Original Score.


  • Cocky – Ted Eltzroth
  • Sir – J. Gary Thompson
  • Kid – Christy Carson
  • Girl – Krissy McKim-Barker
  • Negro – Naman Clark
  • Bully – Matt Cardosi
  • Urchins – Malcolm Casey, Kathleen Durig, Andrea Hansgen, Jamie
  • Pavlofsky, Carrin Ragland, Stacey Ward

Director – Jim Lockwood
Assistant Director – Richard Brock
Music Director – Judy Mansky
Choreographer – Allison Eder
Accompanist – Dean Brown
Set Designer – Chris Newman
Costumer – Kathleen Carroll
Stage Manager – Melanie Brenner


Leave a comment

Filed under Cast list

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.