THE WHIPPING MAN runs Jan. 25-Feb. 18

THE WHIPPING MAN
Presented by Ensemble Theatre of Cincinnati
Jan. 25-Feb. 18
Over-the-Rhine

Reviews: The Enquirer | Behind the Curtain |

It’s Passover, 1865. The Civil War has just ended and the annual celebration of freedom from bondage is being observed in Jewish homes across the country. Caleb DeLeon, a Jewish Confederate soldier, returns wounded from the battlefield to find his family home in ruins, abandoned by everyone except Simon and John, two former slaves, who were raised as Jews in the DeLeon home. As the three men wait for the family’s return, they wrestle with their shared past as master and slave, uncovering a tangle of long-buried family secrets as well as new ones…ties that bind them together and that, ultimately, might cost each man his freedom.

This production contains mature language and themes and may not be suitable for all audiences.

  • Wed-Thu, Jan. 25-26 at 7:30pm
  • Fri, Jan. 27 at 8pm
  • Sat, Jan. 28 at 2pm & 8pm
  • Sun, Jan. 29 at 2pm
  • Tue-Thu, Jan. 31-Feb. 2 at 7:30pm
  • Fri, Feb. 3 at 8pm
  • Sat, Feb. 4 at 2pm & 8pm
  • Sun, Feb. 5 at 2pm
  • Tue-Thur Feb. 7-9 at 7:30pm
  • Fri, Feb. 10 at 8pm
  • Sat, Feb. 11 at 2pm & 8pm
  • Sun, Feb. 12 at 2pm
  • Thu, Feb. 16 at 7:30pm
  • Fri-Sat, Feb. 17-18 at 8pm

Official page | Online ticketing | FaceBook event | Goldstar discount |

Local media coverage: WVXU interview | Enquirer article | CityBeat article |

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under On Stage

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.